Puppies at my feet

…waking up to the silence of the after-morning rush, that perfect moment,

that moment before the sun takes full flight, I gently shift my numb feet, my eyes closed, careful to let sleeping dogs lie.

… too late … that silent moment as his gently smell of his coffee tickles my mind awake, as the dawn is reluctantly retreating, I am nudged awake.

A pattering of paws on my chest, a soft whimper of love… the sweetness of a cool nose on my cheek, loyal loving eyes waiting for mine to emerge from their hiding spot… that quiet moment, with puppies at my feet.

Leave a Reply

